Ball slappers

While I was studying filmmaking in Calgary, I answered an ad in the newspaper for actors.  They were looking for downhill skiers for a commercial.  We use to fly down Suicide Hill as kids so I figured that man made hill, Calgary Olympic Park, would be a cakewalk. 

I filled in the application and under skill, I checked expert.  I sure as hell wasn’t going to put novice, whatever that means.  They liked the photo I’d sent in and they called me for my shoe size and preferred ski size.  I said the shortest ones you have, not knowing that you actually go faster with shorter skis.  

I arrived at the shoot and was fitted in a downhill racing suit and one of them space age aero-dynamic helmets.  They had a camera rigged on a guy-wire that ran from the top of the hill to the bottom, to follow the skier.  I took the gondola to the top of the hill.  When I got up there, I must admit my knees got weak looking down at the run.  I’d already pawned all my jeans and was basically living on chicken neck broth.  You could get a ten pound bag of chicken necks in Chinatown for two bucks.   The hundred and fifty bucks they offered was going to come in handy when I run out of grub.

I was fourth in line at the top of the hill when the director called action.  The first guy did the sign of the cross and jumped off.  By the time I blinked, he was just a dot at the bottom of the hill.   The second guy wasn’t so lucky.  He wiped out about half way down.  I lost count at sixteen tumbles.  It reminded me of a cartoon the way he was flipping through the air.  After seeing that, the third guy quit. I was weak from hunger and I sure as heck wasn’t going to let a little fear come between me and two double quarter pounders with cheese.

The director called action and I froze.  “Action” he yelled in my ear.  Then he pushed me.  Well let me tell you Suicide Hill had nothing on a double black diamond run on an Olympic sanctioned ski-hill.  I didn’t want to but I couldn’t help but scream.  I don’t know how the hell I made it to the first corner without wiping out but I did.  But instead of turning, I went straight.  They had recently re-planted that part of the hill and the little saplings were just the right height to ball-slap me on the way down.  I was seeing dots from the pounding on my sack.  I crossed right over to the next run and was going so fast I couldn’t close my mouth because the air pressure kept it open and my cheeks were actually flapping.

I was headed straight for the parking lot.  I didn’t want to die and I knew if I didn’t turn I would.  I closed my eyes and leaned left.  I hit the snowbank on the side of the highway so hard my skis came off.  The G-force pushed the skin from my eyelids back and all I saw was a truck with a sign that said, “Hay for sale.”  By then I was airborne with my arms at my sides.  I knew I was dead meat.  The moment I hit, my entire life flashed before my eyes.  The next thing I knew, it was dark. 

My legs were free from the knees down but I couldn’t move my arms, or turn my head.  I was waiting for the voice of the Lord when I realized I had straw in my mouth.  Then I could feel someone tugging on my legs.  It was then I realized I’d hit the bail of hay and was stuck inside.  They eventually had to unroll the bail to free me.  I didn’t make it on the commercial but at least I got paid.  It still hurts when I walk but I’m eating good this week.   

About inuvik61

Filmmaker, apprentice bluesman. columnist, father, husband, master, and champion to all those who missed their boats.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ball slappers

  1. harold harry says:

    any pics?

  2. inuvik61 says:

    You don’t believe me?

Leave a Reply

