The truth about it all

Well, this is my first attempt at blogging.  I’m trying like hell not to edit while I write but I suck at trying and I’m editing like a bastard.  There, the truth.

Anyway, my name is Dennis Allen and I’m a filmmaker and musician.  I live in Whitehorse Yukon with my wife and two children.  We have two dogs, Jack and Meeko.  Jack is a husky/lab cross with bad legs.  Meeko is a Jack Russel mutt cross with a strained ligiment from scrappin’ a coyote.  My son Hayden is in grade two and our daughter Juniper is in kindergarten.  My wife Jennifer is completing her eduction in Cultural Management while working as a traditional artist.  I am finishing up my third film with the National Film Board of Canada.  I wrote and directed a film inspired by the book “Crazywater, Native Voices on Addiction and Recovery” by Six Nations author Brian Maracle.  

I made a record of twelve original songs called Dennis Victor Allen, Wayward Son.  I was born long ago enough to play Hank William records but dug around the blues too for material for Wayward Son.  I have ten more songs waiting to be mixed down into another record called “Redskin Indian Dirt Road Reservation Blues.”  I play in the band called the Hellhounds with two juno winning musicians, Bob Hamilton of Old Crow Recording Studio, and Ed White, former drummer with Toronto blues band Fathead.  I also strum along with fiddles, the last of which was Boyd Benjamin.  We opened for Canadian fiddle nut Ashley McIsaac the other week.

I write a column about me and my good buddy Chubby in the News/North.  You can check it out at http://www.nnsl.com  

I grew up in Inuvik NWT.  If you don’t know where that is, get a globe, follow the Mackenzie River all the way to the Arctic Ocean, we’re about half an inch from the Arctic Ocean.  Inuvik was built almost overnight in the late fifties by Dief the Chief who wanted to open up the Arctic for exploration.  So he built Inuvik to accommodate exploration, and international travel.  

I’m going to hit the hay here so I’ll be talking to you again real soon.  Cause I like to write.  Oh yeah, one more.  People ask me what I do.  I tell them that I’m an artist.

“What type  artist are you” is a common question.  If I said I was a plumber, would you ask me what type of plumber I was?  There’s only one type of artist, one who creates.  

About inuvik61

Filmmaker, apprentice bluesman. columnist, father, husband, master, and champion to all those who missed their boats.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

